Sign In Forgot Password
Welcome to Temple Avodah

Temple Leadership

If you are looking for way to more involved, consider Temple Avodah Leadership. We’re happy to talk about various roles so you can make an informed decision. Please contact the office and leave a message for our Temple President Matt Phillips.

Volunteers make it happen.  Whether it is a moment of time, or endless hours, every Temple volunteer is important to the ongoing efforts that make Temple Avodah a very special place.

Temple Avodah is governed by an elected Board of Trustees and officers under a written Constitution and its By Laws.

Our Board of Trustees is composed of one, two and three-year Trustees, past Presidents, and the Presidents of the “arms” of Temple: Sisterhood, Men’s Club and PTO (Parent-Teacher Organization). A monthly Board Meeting is chaired by the Board President. All Temple members are welcome to attend these meetings. The agenda for each meeting is mailed to all Congregants prior to each board meeting.

Our Temple Officers are members of the Temple’s Executive Committee, which meets the week before the Board meeting. The Executive Committee consists of the President, the immediate Past President, three Vice Presidents, the Treasurer and Financial Secretaries, and a Secretary.

What we do The work of maintaining the Temple is carried out by these Trustees and Officers and by many other dedicated volunteers who serve on numerous committees. These volunteers are engaged in everything from hiring our clerical and non-clerical staff, to overseeing our religious school, to publishing our newsletter, Temple Topics.

The role of our lay leadership is a critical component of making Temple Avodah our Jewish home.

It’s possible for any congregant to become a leader. A Nominating Committee, chaired by Temple’s immediate Past President, selects candidates for all Trustee and Officer positions based upon applications submitted. The congregation itself votes on these candidates at its Annual Meeting. There is no prerequisite for consideration by the Nominating Committee; all it requires is an application and a willingness to work for the betterment of the Temple.

Executive Committee 2024-2025

Matt Phillips
Eric Abbey
Elliot Shulman
William Ziff
Corey Aronin
Scot Mackoff
Beth Friedman Benjamin              Josh Fedor
Saul Wiener
Marian Keilson

Trustees 2024-2025

Cindy Baumann
Wendy Brumberg
Robyn Drangel
Alyssa Dube
Laura Koss-Feder
Caasi Gelfond
Lisa Goldberg
Mindy Goldsmith
Steve Gozinsky
Norma Harwood
Lauren Levine
Larry Lieberman
Michele Pitkowsky                         
Rochelle Sanchez

To contact any member of the Executive Committee, please contact the office at (516) 766-6809 ext. 1 or 2 or via email by clicking here.

Voting Past Presidents 2024-2025

Gil Balanoff                                      Phyllis Carbone
Lenore Greenberg
Dan Henick
Rob Keilson                                    Philip Perlmutter

Temple Arms Leadership

Sisterhood President
Sheila London & Wendy Brunberg

Men's Club President
Stewart Gubenko

PTO President
Danielle Davoli
Tue, July 23 2024 17 Tammuz 5784